summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorClaudio Imbrenda <imbrenda@linux.ibm.com>2021-06-24 18:39:39 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2021-06-24 19:40:54 -0700
commit185cca24e977411495d57ec71e43350b69c08e63 (patch)
treec5f48289b08a62cc6e4e51b51a2e27ad9f3e6dfb
parent15a64f5a8870b5610b616a4aa753262dfaa5d76e (diff)
KVM: s390: prepare for hugepage vmalloc
The Create Secure Configuration Ultravisor Call does not support using large pages for the virtual memory area. This is a hardware limitation. This patch replaces the vzalloc call with an almost equivalent call to the newly introduced vmalloc_no_huge function, which guarantees that only small pages will be used for the backing. The new call will not clear the allocated memory, but that has never been an actual requirement. Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210614132357.10202-3-imbrenda@linux.ibm.com Fixes: 121e6f3258fe3 ("mm/vmalloc: hugepage vmalloc mappings") Signed-off-by: Claudio Imbrenda <imbrenda@linux.ibm.com> Reviewed-by: Janosch Frank <frankja@linux.ibm.com> Acked-by: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com> Acked-by: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com> Reviewed-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com> Cc: Uladzislau Rezki (Sony) <urezki@gmail.com> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--arch/s390/kvm/pv.c7
1 files changed, 6 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/arch/s390/kvm/pv.c b/arch/s390/kvm/pv.c
index 813b6e93dc83..c8841f476e91 100644
--- a/arch/s390/kvm/pv.c
+++ b/arch/s390/kvm/pv.c
@@ -140,7 +140,12 @@ static int kvm_s390_pv_alloc_vm(struct kvm *kvm)
/* Allocate variable storage */
vlen = ALIGN(virt * ((npages * PAGE_SIZE) / HPAGE_SIZE), PAGE_SIZE);
vlen += uv_info.guest_virt_base_stor_len;
- kvm->arch.pv.stor_var = vzalloc(vlen);
+ /*
+ * The Create Secure Configuration Ultravisor Call does not support
+ * using large pages for the virtual memory area.
+ * This is a hardware limitation.
+ */
+ kvm->arch.pv.stor_var = vmalloc_no_huge(vlen);
if (!kvm->arch.pv.stor_var)
goto out_err;
return 0;