summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndrea Parri <andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.com>2018-09-26 11:29:20 -0700
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2018-10-02 10:28:05 +0200
commit2f359c7ea554ba9cb78a52c82bedff351cdabd2b (patch)
treeae9f63f768a3aa06abf140f0b4eeacb672eac136
parentd8fa25c4efde0e5f31a427202e583d73d3f021c4 (diff)
locking/memory-barriers: Replace smp_cond_acquire() with smp_cond_load_acquire()
Amend the changes in commit: 1f03e8d2919270 ("locking/barriers: Replace smp_cond_acquire() with smp_cond_load_acquire()") ... by updating the documentation accordingly. Also remove some obsolete information related to the implementation. Signed-off-by: Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.com> Signed-off-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Acked-by: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu> Cc: Akira Yokosawa <akiyks@gmail.com> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com> Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com> Cc: Daniel Lustig <dlustig@nvidia.com> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Cc: Jade Alglave <j.alglave@ucl.ac.uk> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Luc Maranget <luc.maranget@inria.fr> Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu> Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org Cc: parri.andrea@gmail.com Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180926182920.27644-5-paulmck@linux.ibm.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
-rw-r--r--Documentation/memory-barriers.txt3
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/memory-barriers.txt b/Documentation/memory-barriers.txt
index 0d8d7ef131e9..c1d913944ad8 100644
--- a/Documentation/memory-barriers.txt
+++ b/Documentation/memory-barriers.txt
@@ -471,8 +471,7 @@ And a couple of implicit varieties:
operations after the ACQUIRE operation will appear to happen after the
ACQUIRE operation with respect to the other components of the system.
ACQUIRE operations include LOCK operations and both smp_load_acquire()
- and smp_cond_acquire() operations. The later builds the necessary ACQUIRE
- semantics from relying on a control dependency and smp_rmb().
+ and smp_cond_load_acquire() operations.
Memory operations that occur before an ACQUIRE operation may appear to
happen after it completes.