summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAnshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>2020-08-06 23:23:24 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2020-08-07 11:33:27 -0700
commit56993b4e147e9f2ba91ac15ef9ae5ee0626a6850 (patch)
tree5e6698f1f9c8caf0eddab295708256643708e69a
parent1d9cfee7535c213038a615f112c900c2d0ba8f54 (diff)
mm/sparsemem: enable vmem_altmap support in vmemmap_alloc_block_buf()
There are many instances where vmemap allocation is often switched between regular memory and device memory just based on whether altmap is available or not. vmemmap_alloc_block_buf() is used in various platforms to allocate vmemmap mappings. Lets also enable it to handle altmap based device memory allocation along with existing regular memory allocations. This will help in avoiding the altmap based allocation switch in many places. To summarize there are two different methods to call vmemmap_alloc_block_buf(). vmemmap_alloc_block_buf(size, node, NULL) /* Allocate from system RAM */ vmemmap_alloc_block_buf(size, node, altmap) /* Allocate from altmap */ This converts altmap_alloc_block_buf() into a static function, drops it's entry from the header and updates Documentation/vm/memory-model.rst. Suggested-by: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Tested-by: Jia He <justin.he@arm.com> Reviewed-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: Hsin-Yi Wang <hsinyi@chromium.org> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: "Matthew Wilcox (Oracle)" <willy@infradead.org> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com> Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com> Cc: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com> Cc: Steve Capper <steve.capper@arm.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Cc: Yu Zhao <yuzhao@google.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1594004178-8861-3-git-send-email-anshuman.khandual@arm.com Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--Documentation/vm/memory-model.rst2
-rw-r--r--arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c2
-rw-r--r--arch/powerpc/mm/init_64.c4
-rw-r--r--arch/x86/mm/init_64.c5
-rw-r--r--include/linux/mm.h4
-rw-r--r--mm/sparse-vmemmap.c28
6 files changed, 20 insertions, 25 deletions
diff --git a/Documentation/vm/memory-model.rst b/Documentation/vm/memory-model.rst
index cc65bc85d260..2b898a27b346 100644
--- a/Documentation/vm/memory-model.rst
+++ b/Documentation/vm/memory-model.rst
@@ -178,7 +178,7 @@ for persistent memory devices in pre-allocated storage on those
devices. This storage is represented with :c:type:`struct vmem_altmap`
that is eventually passed to vmemmap_populate() through a long chain
of function calls. The vmemmap_populate() implementation may use the
-`vmem_altmap` along with :c:func:`altmap_alloc_block_buf` helper to
+`vmem_altmap` along with :c:func:`vmemmap_alloc_block_buf` helper to
allocate memory map on the persistent memory device.
ZONE_DEVICE
diff --git a/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c b/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
index a32ddd021fe9..f3d9ff323c8f 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
@@ -1102,7 +1102,7 @@ int __meminit vmemmap_populate(unsigned long start, unsigned long end, int node,
if (pmd_none(READ_ONCE(*pmdp))) {
void *p = NULL;
- p = vmemmap_alloc_block_buf(PMD_SIZE, node);
+ p = vmemmap_alloc_block_buf(PMD_SIZE, node, NULL);
if (!p)
return -ENOMEM;
diff --git a/arch/powerpc/mm/init_64.c b/arch/powerpc/mm/init_64.c
index bc73abf0bc25..3fd504d72c5e 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/mm/init_64.c
+++ b/arch/powerpc/mm/init_64.c
@@ -225,12 +225,12 @@ int __meminit vmemmap_populate(unsigned long start, unsigned long end, int node,
* fall back to system memory if the altmap allocation fail.
*/
if (altmap && !altmap_cross_boundary(altmap, start, page_size)) {
- p = altmap_alloc_block_buf(page_size, altmap);
+ p = vmemmap_alloc_block_buf(page_size, node, altmap);
if (!p)
pr_debug("altmap block allocation failed, falling back to system memory");
}
if (!p)
- p = vmemmap_alloc_block_buf(page_size, node);
+ p = vmemmap_alloc_block_buf(page_size, node, NULL);
if (!p)
return -ENOMEM;
diff --git a/arch/x86/mm/init_64.c b/arch/x86/mm/init_64.c
index 1acc5627b21c..53e1d4f4ed9d 100644
--- a/arch/x86/mm/init_64.c
+++ b/arch/x86/mm/init_64.c
@@ -1515,10 +1515,7 @@ static int __meminit vmemmap_populate_hugepages(unsigned long start,
if (pmd_none(*pmd)) {
void *p;
- if (altmap)
- p = altmap_alloc_block_buf(PMD_SIZE, altmap);
- else
- p = vmemmap_alloc_block_buf(PMD_SIZE, node);
+ p = vmemmap_alloc_block_buf(PMD_SIZE, node, altmap);
if (p) {
pte_t entry;
diff --git a/include/linux/mm.h b/include/linux/mm.h
index a7ff98738126..98e35df8d88e 100644
--- a/include/linux/mm.h
+++ b/include/linux/mm.h
@@ -2982,8 +2982,8 @@ pte_t *vmemmap_pte_populate(pmd_t *pmd, unsigned long addr, int node,
struct vmem_altmap *altmap);
void *vmemmap_alloc_block(unsigned long size, int node);
struct vmem_altmap;
-void *vmemmap_alloc_block_buf(unsigned long size, int node);
-void *altmap_alloc_block_buf(unsigned long size, struct vmem_altmap *altmap);
+void *vmemmap_alloc_block_buf(unsigned long size, int node,
+ struct vmem_altmap *altmap);
void vmemmap_verify(pte_t *, int, unsigned long, unsigned long);
int vmemmap_populate_basepages(unsigned long start, unsigned long end,
int node, struct vmem_altmap *altmap);
diff --git a/mm/sparse-vmemmap.c b/mm/sparse-vmemmap.c
index ceed10dec31e..41eeac67723b 100644
--- a/mm/sparse-vmemmap.c
+++ b/mm/sparse-vmemmap.c
@@ -69,11 +69,19 @@ void * __meminit vmemmap_alloc_block(unsigned long size, int node)
__pa(MAX_DMA_ADDRESS));
}
+static void * __meminit altmap_alloc_block_buf(unsigned long size,
+ struct vmem_altmap *altmap);
+
/* need to make sure size is all the same during early stage */
-void * __meminit vmemmap_alloc_block_buf(unsigned long size, int node)
+void * __meminit vmemmap_alloc_block_buf(unsigned long size, int node,
+ struct vmem_altmap *altmap)
{
- void *ptr = sparse_buffer_alloc(size);
+ void *ptr;
+
+ if (altmap)
+ return altmap_alloc_block_buf(size, altmap);
+ ptr = sparse_buffer_alloc(size);
if (!ptr)
ptr = vmemmap_alloc_block(size, node);
return ptr;
@@ -94,15 +102,8 @@ static unsigned long __meminit vmem_altmap_nr_free(struct vmem_altmap *altmap)
return 0;
}
-/**
- * altmap_alloc_block_buf - allocate pages from the device page map
- * @altmap: device page map
- * @size: size (in bytes) of the allocation
- *
- * Allocations are aligned to the size of the request.
- */
-void * __meminit altmap_alloc_block_buf(unsigned long size,
- struct vmem_altmap *altmap)
+static void * __meminit altmap_alloc_block_buf(unsigned long size,
+ struct vmem_altmap *altmap)
{
unsigned long pfn, nr_pfns, nr_align;
@@ -147,10 +148,7 @@ pte_t * __meminit vmemmap_pte_populate(pmd_t *pmd, unsigned long addr, int node,
pte_t entry;
void *p;
- if (altmap)
- p = altmap_alloc_block_buf(PAGE_SIZE, altmap);
- else
- p = vmemmap_alloc_block_buf(PAGE_SIZE, node);
+ p = vmemmap_alloc_block_buf(PAGE_SIZE, node, altmap);
if (!p)
return NULL;
entry = pfn_pte(__pa(p) >> PAGE_SHIFT, PAGE_KERNEL);