summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorYury Norov <yury.norov@gmail.com>2021-05-06 18:02:56 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2021-05-06 19:24:11 -0700
commit586eaebea5988302c5a8b018096dd6c6f4564940 (patch)
tree5cb3629cf4dc29b4671d4ee4a36a2a53847218fa
parentbb8bc36ef8a9873e79c5bbde74fd493c47492c42 (diff)
lib: extend the scope of small_const_nbits() macro
find_bit would also benefit from small_const_nbits() optimizations. The detailed comment is provided by Rasmus Villemoes. Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20210401003153.97325-6-yury.norov@gmail.com Suggested-by: Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk> Signed-off-by: Yury Norov <yury.norov@gmail.com> Acked-by: Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk> Acked-by: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com> Cc: Alexey Klimov <aklimov@redhat.com> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> Cc: David Sterba <dsterba@suse.com> Cc: Dennis Zhou <dennis@kernel.org> Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org> Cc: Jianpeng Ma <jianpeng.ma@intel.com> Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com> Cc: John Paul Adrian Glaubitz <glaubitz@physik.fu-berlin.de> Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com> Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org> Cc: Stefano Brivio <sbrivio@redhat.com> Cc: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@linux.alibaba.com> Cc: Wolfram Sang <wsa+renesas@sang-engineering.com> Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.osdn.me> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--include/asm-generic/bitsperlong.h12
-rw-r--r--include/linux/bitmap.h8
2 files changed, 12 insertions, 8 deletions
diff --git a/include/asm-generic/bitsperlong.h b/include/asm-generic/bitsperlong.h
index 3905c1c93dc2..1023e2a4bd37 100644
--- a/include/asm-generic/bitsperlong.h
+++ b/include/asm-generic/bitsperlong.h
@@ -23,4 +23,16 @@
#define BITS_PER_LONG_LONG 64
#endif
+/*
+ * small_const_nbits(n) is true precisely when it is known at compile-time
+ * that BITMAP_SIZE(n) is 1, i.e. 1 <= n <= BITS_PER_LONG. This allows
+ * various bit/bitmap APIs to provide a fast inline implementation. Bitmaps
+ * of size 0 are very rare, and a compile-time-known-size 0 is most likely
+ * a sign of error. They will be handled correctly by the bit/bitmap APIs,
+ * but using the out-of-line functions, so that the inline implementations
+ * can unconditionally dereference the pointer(s).
+ */
+#define small_const_nbits(nbits) \
+ (__builtin_constant_p(nbits) && (nbits) <= BITS_PER_LONG && (nbits) > 0)
+
#endif /* __ASM_GENERIC_BITS_PER_LONG */
diff --git a/include/linux/bitmap.h b/include/linux/bitmap.h
index 6cbcd9d9edd2..f57f4473bbe4 100644
--- a/include/linux/bitmap.h
+++ b/include/linux/bitmap.h
@@ -223,14 +223,6 @@ extern int bitmap_print_to_pagebuf(bool list, char *buf,
#define BITMAP_FIRST_WORD_MASK(start) (~0UL << ((start) & (BITS_PER_LONG - 1)))
#define BITMAP_LAST_WORD_MASK(nbits) (~0UL >> (-(nbits) & (BITS_PER_LONG - 1)))
-/*
- * The static inlines below do not handle constant nbits==0 correctly,
- * so make such users (should any ever turn up) call the out-of-line
- * versions.
- */
-#define small_const_nbits(nbits) \
- (__builtin_constant_p(nbits) && (nbits) <= BITS_PER_LONG && (nbits) > 0)
-
static inline void bitmap_zero(unsigned long *dst, unsigned int nbits)
{
unsigned int len = BITS_TO_LONGS(nbits) * sizeof(unsigned long);