summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorJohn Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>2020-01-30 22:13:05 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2020-01-31 10:30:37 -0800
commit803e4572d7c5db03cbc155e9dd0530f50ebba336 (patch)
treea3247603923028e4f87de13bd8c1a60f49a0e549
parentdfa0a4fff11b32740c67fb0baf219702b978fc51 (diff)
mm/process_vm_access: set FOLL_PIN via pin_user_pages_remote()
Convert process_vm_access to use the new pin_user_pages_remote() call, which sets FOLL_PIN. Setting FOLL_PIN is now required for code that requires tracking of pinned pages. Also, release the pages via put_user_page*(). Also, rename "pages" to "pinned_pages", as this makes for easier reading of process_vm_rw_single_vec(). Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200107224558.2362728-15-jhubbard@nvidia.com Signed-off-by: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com> Reviewed-by: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz> Reviewed-by: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com> Reviewed-by: Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com> Cc: Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com> Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Björn Töpel <bjorn.topel@intel.com> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Hans Verkuil <hverkuil-cisco@xs4all.nl> Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com> Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca> Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name> Cc: Leon Romanovsky <leonro@mellanox.com> Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org> Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
-rw-r--r--mm/process_vm_access.c28
1 files changed, 15 insertions, 13 deletions
diff --git a/mm/process_vm_access.c b/mm/process_vm_access.c
index 357aa7bef6c0..fd20ab675b85 100644
--- a/mm/process_vm_access.c
+++ b/mm/process_vm_access.c
@@ -42,12 +42,11 @@ static int process_vm_rw_pages(struct page **pages,
if (copy > len)
copy = len;
- if (vm_write) {
+ if (vm_write)
copied = copy_page_from_iter(page, offset, copy, iter);
- set_page_dirty_lock(page);
- } else {
+ else
copied = copy_page_to_iter(page, offset, copy, iter);
- }
+
len -= copied;
if (copied < copy && iov_iter_count(iter))
return -EFAULT;
@@ -96,7 +95,7 @@ static int process_vm_rw_single_vec(unsigned long addr,
flags |= FOLL_WRITE;
while (!rc && nr_pages && iov_iter_count(iter)) {
- int pages = min(nr_pages, max_pages_per_loop);
+ int pinned_pages = min(nr_pages, max_pages_per_loop);
int locked = 1;
size_t bytes;
@@ -106,14 +105,15 @@ static int process_vm_rw_single_vec(unsigned long addr,
* current/current->mm
*/
down_read(&mm->mmap_sem);
- pages = get_user_pages_remote(task, mm, pa, pages, flags,
- process_pages, NULL, &locked);
+ pinned_pages = pin_user_pages_remote(task, mm, pa, pinned_pages,
+ flags, process_pages,
+ NULL, &locked);
if (locked)
up_read(&mm->mmap_sem);
- if (pages <= 0)
+ if (pinned_pages <= 0)
return -EFAULT;
- bytes = pages * PAGE_SIZE - start_offset;
+ bytes = pinned_pages * PAGE_SIZE - start_offset;
if (bytes > len)
bytes = len;
@@ -122,10 +122,12 @@ static int process_vm_rw_single_vec(unsigned long addr,
vm_write);
len -= bytes;
start_offset = 0;
- nr_pages -= pages;
- pa += pages * PAGE_SIZE;
- while (pages)
- put_page(process_pages[--pages]);
+ nr_pages -= pinned_pages;
+ pa += pinned_pages * PAGE_SIZE;
+
+ /* If vm_write is set, the pages need to be made dirty: */
+ put_user_pages_dirty_lock(process_pages, pinned_pages,
+ vm_write);
}
return rc;