summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation/memory-barriers.txt
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndrea Parri <andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.com>2018-07-16 11:06:02 -0700
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>2018-07-17 09:30:33 +0200
commit3d85b2703783636366560c94842affd8608ec9d1 (patch)
tree5a4713999d2c9020bf74ffbff3be78ea0dc4dde2 /Documentation/memory-barriers.txt
parent76e079fefc8f62bd9b2cd2950814d1ee806e31a5 (diff)
locking/spinlock, sched/core: Clarify requirements for smp_mb__after_spinlock()
There are 11 interpretations of the requirements described in the header comment for smp_mb__after_spinlock(): one for each LKMM maintainer, and one currently encoded in the Cat file. Stick to the latter (until a more satisfactory solution is available). This also reworks some snippets related to the barrier to illustrate the requirements and to link them to the idioms which are relied upon at its call sites. Suggested-by: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.com> Signed-off-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Cc: akiyks@gmail.com Cc: dhowells@redhat.com Cc: j.alglave@ucl.ac.uk Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org Cc: luc.maranget@inria.fr Cc: npiggin@gmail.com Cc: parri.andrea@gmail.com Cc: stern@rowland.harvard.edu Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180716180605.16115-11-paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'Documentation/memory-barriers.txt')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions