summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/crypto/testmgr.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorWaiman Long <longman@redhat.com>2020-08-06 23:18:13 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2020-08-07 11:33:22 -0700
commit453431a54934d917153c65211b2dabf45562ca88 (patch)
treee9672e7fb28f59331ff00fe6197360d703cbd9c3 /crypto/testmgr.c
parent57c720d4144a9c2b88105c3e8f7b0e97e4b5cc93 (diff)
mm, treewide: rename kzfree() to kfree_sensitive()
As said by Linus: A symmetric naming is only helpful if it implies symmetries in use. Otherwise it's actively misleading. In "kzalloc()", the z is meaningful and an important part of what the caller wants. In "kzfree()", the z is actively detrimental, because maybe in the future we really _might_ want to use that "memfill(0xdeadbeef)" or something. The "zero" part of the interface isn't even _relevant_. The main reason that kzfree() exists is to clear sensitive information that should not be leaked to other future users of the same memory objects. Rename kzfree() to kfree_sensitive() to follow the example of the recently added kvfree_sensitive() and make the intention of the API more explicit. In addition, memzero_explicit() is used to clear the memory to make sure that it won't get optimized away by the compiler. The renaming is done by using the command sequence: git grep -w --name-only kzfree |\ xargs sed -i 's/kzfree/kfree_sensitive/' followed by some editing of the kfree_sensitive() kerneldoc and adding a kzfree backward compatibility macro in slab.h. [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fs/crypto/inline_crypt.c needs linux/slab.h] [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix fs/crypto/inline_crypt.c some more] Suggested-by: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com> Signed-off-by: Waiman Long <longman@redhat.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Acked-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Acked-by: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Jarkko Sakkinen <jarkko.sakkinen@linux.intel.com> Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org> Cc: "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com> Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org> Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com> Cc: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@oracle.com> Cc: "Jason A . Donenfeld" <Jason@zx2c4.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200616154311.12314-3-longman@redhat.com Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'crypto/testmgr.c')
-rw-r--r--crypto/testmgr.c6
1 files changed, 3 insertions, 3 deletions
diff --git a/crypto/testmgr.c b/crypto/testmgr.c
index 6863f911fcee..23c27fc96394 100644
--- a/crypto/testmgr.c
+++ b/crypto/testmgr.c
@@ -1744,7 +1744,7 @@ out:
kfree(vec.plaintext);
kfree(vec.digest);
crypto_free_shash(generic_tfm);
- kzfree(generic_desc);
+ kfree_sensitive(generic_desc);
return err;
}
#else /* !CONFIG_CRYPTO_MANAGER_EXTRA_TESTS */
@@ -3665,7 +3665,7 @@ static int drbg_cavs_test(const struct drbg_testvec *test, int pr,
if (IS_ERR(drng)) {
printk(KERN_ERR "alg: drbg: could not allocate DRNG handle for "
"%s\n", driver);
- kzfree(buf);
+ kfree_sensitive(buf);
return -ENOMEM;
}
@@ -3712,7 +3712,7 @@ static int drbg_cavs_test(const struct drbg_testvec *test, int pr,
outbuf:
crypto_free_rng(drng);
- kzfree(buf);
+ kfree_sensitive(buf);
return ret;
}