summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/ipc
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAnshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com>2020-08-06 23:23:29 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2020-08-07 11:33:27 -0700
commiteee07935bb52a03561d53ccc5cecf12f2faeb396 (patch)
tree83e17c864c461024900e39f0b471363224a2d5a5 /ipc
parent56993b4e147e9f2ba91ac15ef9ae5ee0626a6850 (diff)
arm64/mm: enable vmem_altmap support for vmemmap mappings
Device memory ranges when getting hot added into ZONE_DEVICE, might require their vmemmap mapping's backing memory to be allocated from their own range instead of consuming system memory. This prevents large system memory usage for potentially large device memory ranges. Device driver communicates this request via vmem_altmap structure. Architecture needs to take this request into account while creating and tearing down vemmmap mappings. This enables vmem_altmap support in vmemmap_populate() and vmemmap_free() which includes vmemmap_populate_basepages() used for ARM64_16K_PAGES and ARM64_64K_PAGES configs. Signed-off-by: Anshuman Khandual <anshuman.khandual@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Tested-by: Jia He <justin.he@arm.com> Reviewed-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> Cc: Steve Capper <steve.capper@arm.com> Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> Cc: Yu Zhao <yuzhao@google.com> Cc: Hsin-Yi Wang <hsinyi@chromium.org> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org> Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com> Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com> Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: "Matthew Wilcox (Oracle)" <willy@infradead.org> Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com> Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com> Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org> Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com> Cc: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com> Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1594004178-8861-4-git-send-email-anshuman.khandual@arm.com Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'ipc')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions