summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm/internal.h
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>2021-11-05 13:42:42 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2021-11-06 13:30:40 -0700
commitc3f4a9a2b082c5392fbff17c6d8551154add5fdb (patch)
tree94211c0936f4a7fcadcc0ab42fd030a6cffd61e9 /mm/internal.h
parent132b0d21d21f14f74fbe44dd5b8b1848215fff09 (diff)
mm/vmscan: centralise timeout values for reclaim_throttle
Neil Brown raised concerns about callers of reclaim_throttle specifying a timeout value. The original timeout values to congestion_wait() were probably pulled out of thin air or copy&pasted from somewhere else. This patch centralises the timeout values and selects a timeout based on the reason for reclaim throttling. These figures are also pulled out of the same thin air but better values may be derived Running a workload that is throttling for inappropriate periods and tracing mm_vmscan_throttled can be used to pick a more appropriate value. Excessive throttling would pick a lower timeout where as excessive CPU usage in reclaim context would select a larger timeout. Ideally a large value would always be used and the wakeups would occur before a timeout but that requires careful testing. Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20211022144651.19914-7-mgorman@techsingularity.net Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net> Acked-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Andreas Dilger <adilger.kernel@dilger.ca> Cc: "Darrick J . Wong" <djwong@kernel.org> Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com> Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: NeilBrown <neilb@suse.de> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@surriel.com> Cc: "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/internal.h')
-rw-r--r--mm/internal.h3
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 2 deletions
diff --git a/mm/internal.h b/mm/internal.h
index 7dfe74f827bf..f3de3a2f3e30 100644
--- a/mm/internal.h
+++ b/mm/internal.h
@@ -130,8 +130,7 @@ extern unsigned long highest_memmap_pfn;
*/
extern int isolate_lru_page(struct page *page);
extern void putback_lru_page(struct page *page);
-extern void reclaim_throttle(pg_data_t *pgdat, enum vmscan_throttle_state reason,
- long timeout);
+extern void reclaim_throttle(pg_data_t *pgdat, enum vmscan_throttle_state reason);
/*
* in mm/rmap.c: