summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm/ksm.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>2018-12-28 00:38:36 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2018-12-28 12:11:51 -0800
commite0975b2aae0e669f995f7d5f11db25c3080ae11c (patch)
tree85ef72a9df87997d6b35f298a0cb5230da7f1552 /mm/ksm.c
parentbb8965bd82fd4ed433a888f1383016ab3fa0d7de (diff)
mm, fault_around: do not take a reference to a locked page
filemap_map_pages takes a speculative reference to each page in the range before it tries to lock that page. While this is correct it also can influence page migration which will bail out when seeing an elevated reference count. The faultaround code would bail on seeing a locked page so we can pro-actively check the PageLocked bit before page_cache_get_speculative and prevent from pointless reference count churn. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181211142741.2607-4-mhocko@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Suggested-by: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz> Acked-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Reviewed-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com> Acked-by: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Reviewed-by: William Kucharski <william.kucharski@oracle.com> Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de> Cc: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/ksm.c')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions