summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm/page_vma_mapped.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorHugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>2021-06-24 18:39:23 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2021-06-24 19:40:53 -0700
commita765c417d876cc635f628365ec9aa6f09470069a (patch)
tree7b213a4aac5f5b8c8c5b80189007049054764586 /mm/page_vma_mapped.c
parent474466301dfd8b39a10c01db740645f3f7ae9a28 (diff)
mm: page_vma_mapped_walk(): get vma_address_end() earlier
page_vma_mapped_walk() cleanup: get THP's vma_address_end() at the start, rather than later at next_pte. It's a little unnecessary overhead on the first call, but makes for a simpler loop in the following commit. Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/4542b34d-862f-7cb4-bb22-e0df6ce830a2@google.com Signed-off-by: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com> Acked-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com> Cc: Alistair Popple <apopple@nvidia.com> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org> Cc: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com> Cc: Ralph Campbell <rcampbell@nvidia.com> Cc: Wang Yugui <wangyugui@e16-tech.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org> Cc: Yang Shi <shy828301@gmail.com> Cc: Zi Yan <ziy@nvidia.com> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/page_vma_mapped.c')
-rw-r--r--mm/page_vma_mapped.c13
1 files changed, 9 insertions, 4 deletions
diff --git a/mm/page_vma_mapped.c b/mm/page_vma_mapped.c
index 6b9320340f1b..df89ea3df4f4 100644
--- a/mm/page_vma_mapped.c
+++ b/mm/page_vma_mapped.c
@@ -171,6 +171,15 @@ bool page_vma_mapped_walk(struct page_vma_mapped_walk *pvmw)
return true;
}
+ /*
+ * Seek to next pte only makes sense for THP.
+ * But more important than that optimization, is to filter out
+ * any PageKsm page: whose page->index misleads vma_address()
+ * and vma_address_end() to disaster.
+ */
+ end = PageTransCompound(page) ?
+ vma_address_end(page, pvmw->vma) :
+ pvmw->address + PAGE_SIZE;
if (pvmw->pte)
goto next_pte;
restart:
@@ -238,10 +247,6 @@ this_pte:
if (check_pte(pvmw))
return true;
next_pte:
- /* Seek to next pte only makes sense for THP */
- if (!PageTransHuge(page))
- return not_found(pvmw);
- end = vma_address_end(page, pvmw->vma);
do {
pvmw->address += PAGE_SIZE;
if (pvmw->address >= end)