summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm/sparse-vmemmap.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorCannon Matthews <cannonmatthews@google.com>2018-08-17 15:49:17 -0700
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2018-08-17 16:20:32 -0700
commit330d6e489a0ab49136561d7f792b1d81bcdbb83c (patch)
tree3e051312557b545b5b4483ae2f35589bc0271c27 /mm/sparse-vmemmap.c
parentd8a759b5703519d37fa5b752f825cbfc06b57906 (diff)
mm/hugetlb.c: don't zero 1GiB bootmem pages
When using 1GiB pages during early boot, use the new memblock_virt_alloc_try_nid_raw() to allocate memory without zeroing it. Zeroing out hundreds or thousands of GiB in a single core memset() call is very slow, and can make early boot last upwards of 20-30 minutes on multi TiB machines. The memory does not need to be zero'd as the hugetlb pages are always zero'd on page fault. Tested: Booted with ~3800 1G pages, and it booted successfully in roughly the same amount of time as with 0, as opposed to the 25+ minutes it would take before. Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180711213313.92481-1-cannonmatthews@google.com Signed-off-by: Cannon Matthews <cannonmatthews@google.com> Acked-by: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Cc: Andres Lagar-Cavilla <andreslc@google.com> Cc: Peter Feiner <pfeiner@google.com> Cc: David Matlack <dmatlack@google.com> Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/sparse-vmemmap.c')
0 files changed, 0 insertions, 0 deletions