summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm/vmalloc.c
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>2022-01-14 14:07:04 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2022-01-15 16:30:28 +0200
commit30d3f01191d305c99e8b3f8b1b328fc852270c95 (patch)
tree7af6bb6c65982cea81d65f740be0b31116ccc064 /mm/vmalloc.c
parent9376130c390a76fac2788a5d6e1a149017b4ab50 (diff)
mm/vmalloc: be more explicit about supported gfp flags.
Commit b7d90e7a5ea8 ("mm/vmalloc: be more explicit about supported gfp flags") has been merged prematurely without the rest of the series and without addressed review feedback from Neil. Fix that up now. Only wording is changed slightly. Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20211122153233.9924-4-mhocko@kernel.org Signed-off-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com> Reviewed-by: Uladzislau Rezki (Sony) <urezki@gmail.com> Acked-by: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz> Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com> Cc: Ilya Dryomov <idryomov@gmail.com> Cc: Jeff Layton <jlayton@kernel.org> Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de> Cc: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@linutronix.de> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm/vmalloc.c')
-rw-r--r--mm/vmalloc.c14
1 files changed, 8 insertions, 6 deletions
diff --git a/mm/vmalloc.c b/mm/vmalloc.c
index d1bebd197c8c..4165304d3547 100644
--- a/mm/vmalloc.c
+++ b/mm/vmalloc.c
@@ -3031,12 +3031,14 @@ fail:
*
* Allocate enough pages to cover @size from the page level
* allocator with @gfp_mask flags. Please note that the full set of gfp
- * flags are not supported. GFP_KERNEL would be a preferred allocation mode
- * but GFP_NOFS and GFP_NOIO are supported as well. Zone modifiers are not
- * supported. From the reclaim modifiers__GFP_DIRECT_RECLAIM is required (aka
- * GFP_NOWAIT is not supported) and only __GFP_NOFAIL is supported (aka
- * __GFP_NORETRY and __GFP_RETRY_MAYFAIL are not supported).
- * __GFP_NOWARN can be used to suppress error messages about failures.
+ * flags are not supported. GFP_KERNEL, GFP_NOFS and GFP_NOIO are all
+ * supported.
+ * Zone modifiers are not supported. From the reclaim modifiers
+ * __GFP_DIRECT_RECLAIM is required (aka GFP_NOWAIT is not supported)
+ * and only __GFP_NOFAIL is supported (i.e. __GFP_NORETRY and
+ * __GFP_RETRY_MAYFAIL are not supported).
+ *
+ * __GFP_NOWARN can be used to suppress failures messages.
*
* Map them into contiguous kernel virtual space, using a pagetable
* protection of @prot.