summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/mm
diff options
context:
space:
mode:
authorAndrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>2021-02-24 12:05:34 -0800
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>2021-02-24 13:38:31 -0800
commit2e4bde6a1e3a3feb8511685b8c97be668728eefb (patch)
treef8decf829afbdffe9c7dbf096f96a9d4917172be /mm
parent5d92bdffd2d53f98de683229c0ad7d028703fdba (diff)
kasan: add compiler barriers to KUNIT_EXPECT_KASAN_FAIL
It might not be obvious to the compiler that the expression must be executed between writing and reading to fail_data. In this case, the compiler might reorder or optimize away some of the accesses, and the tests will fail. Add compiler barriers around the expression in KUNIT_EXPECT_KASAN_FAIL and use READ/WRITE_ONCE() for accessing fail_data fields. Link: https://linux-review.googlesource.com/id/I046079f48641a1d36fe627fc8827a9249102fd50 Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/6f11596f367d8ae8f71d800351e9a5d91eda19f6.1610733117.git.andreyknvl@google.com Signed-off-by: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com> Reviewed-by: Marco Elver <elver@google.com> Reviewed-by: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com> Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com> Cc: Branislav Rankov <Branislav.Rankov@arm.com> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com> Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com> Cc: Evgenii Stepanov <eugenis@google.com> Cc: Kevin Brodsky <kevin.brodsky@arm.com> Cc: Peter Collingbourne <pcc@google.com> Cc: Vincenzo Frascino <vincenzo.frascino@arm.com> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'mm')
-rw-r--r--mm/kasan/report.c2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/mm/kasan/report.c b/mm/kasan/report.c
index e93d7973792e..234f35a84f19 100644
--- a/mm/kasan/report.c
+++ b/mm/kasan/report.c
@@ -331,7 +331,7 @@ static void kasan_update_kunit_status(struct kunit *cur_test)
}
kasan_data = (struct kunit_kasan_expectation *)resource->data;
- kasan_data->report_found = true;
+ WRITE_ONCE(kasan_data->report_found, true);
kunit_put_resource(resource);
}
#endif /* IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_KUNIT) */