summaryrefslogtreecommitdiffstats
path: root/Documentation/infiniband
Commit message (Collapse)AuthorAgeFilesLines
* RDMA/core: Remove FMR device opsMax Gurtovoy2020-06-021-2/+0
| | | | | | | | | After removing FMR support from all the RDMA ULPs and providers, there is no need to keep FMR operation for IB devices. Link: https://lore.kernel.org/r/11-v3-f58e6669d5d3+2cf-fmr_removal_jgg@mellanox.com Signed-off-by: Max Gurtovoy <maxg@mellanox.com> Signed-off-by: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com>
* Documentation/infiniband: update name of some functionsGuoqing Jiang2019-09-131-4/+4
| | | | | | | | | | | | | Update the document since those functions had been renamed in below. Fixes: 0a18cfe4f6d7 ("IB/core: Rename ib_create_ah to rdma_create_ah") Fixes: 67b985b6c755 ("IB/core: Rename ib_modify_ah to rdma_modify_ah") Fixes: bfbfd661c9ea ("IB/core: Rename ib_query_ah to rdma_query_ah") Fixes: 365231593409 ("IB/core: Rename ib_destroy_ah to rdma_destroy_ah") Link: https://lore.kernel.org/r/20190903124519.28318-1-guoqing.jiang@cloud.ionos.com Signed-off-by: Guoqing Jiang <guoqing.jiang@cloud.ionos.com> Reviewed-by: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com> Signed-off-by: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com>
* docs: infiniband: add it to the driver-api booksetMauro Carvalho Chehab2019-07-081-1/+1
| | | | | | | | | While this contains some uAPI stuff, it was intended to be read by a kernel doc. So, let's not move it to a different dir, but, instead, just add it to the driver-api bookset. Signed-off-by: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+samsung@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com>
* docs: infiniband: convert docs to ReST and rename to *.rstMauro Carvalho Chehab2019-06-258-102/+173
| | | | | | | | | | | | The InfiniBand docs are plain text with no markups. So, all we needed to do were to add the title markups and some markup sequences in order to properly parse tables, lists and literal blocks. At its new index.rst, let's add a :orphan: while this is not linked to the main index.rst file, in order to avoid build warnings. Signed-off-by: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+samsung@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com>
* Documentation/infiniband: update from locked to pinned_vmDavidlohr Bueso2019-02-071-2/+2
| | | | | | | We are really talking about pinned_vm here. Signed-off-by: Davidlohr Bueso <dbueso@suse.de> Signed-off-by: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com>
* Documentation/ABI: update infiniband sysfs interfacesAishwarya Pant2018-02-231-127/+2
| | | | | | | | | | | Add documentation for core and hardware specific infiniband interfaces. The descriptions have been collected from git commit logs, reading through code and data sheets. Some drivers have incomplete doc and are annotated with the comment '[to be documented]'. Signed-off-by: Aishwarya Pant <aishpant@gmail.com> Reviewed-by: Hal Rosenstock <hal@mellanox.com> Signed-off-by: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
* IB: Update references to libibverbsJason Gunthorpe2018-02-041-1/+1
| | | | | | | | | These days the userspace comes from rdma-core, revise references in the kernel to point to the current repository. Signed-off-by: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com> Reviewed-by: Leon Romanovsky <leonro@mellanox.com> Signed-off-by: Doug Ledford <dledford@redhat.com>
* Documentation: Hardware tag matchingArtemy Kovalyov2017-08-291-0/+64
| | | | | | | | | | Add document providing definitions of terms and core explanations for tag matching (TM) protocols, eager and rendezvous, TM application header, tag list manipulations and matching process. Signed-off-by: Artemy Kovalyov <artemyko@mellanox.com> Signed-off-by: Leon Romanovsky <leon@kernel.org> Signed-off-by: Doug Ledford <dledford@redhat.com>
* IB/opa-vnic: Virtual Network Interface Controller (VNIC) documentationVishwanathapura, Niranjana2017-04-201-0/+153
| | | | | | | | | | Add OPA VNIC design document explaining the VNIC architecture and the driver design. Reviewed-by: Dennis Dalessandro <dennis.dalessandro@intel.com> Reviewed-by: Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Niranjana Vishwanathapura <niranjana.vishwanathapura@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Doug Ledford <dledford@redhat.com>
* IB/hfi1: Document new sysfs entries for hfi1 driverTadeusz Struk2016-10-021-0/+30
| | | | | | | | | | | | This patch adds description for the sdma engine related sysfs entries for the HFI1 driver. Reviewed-by: Dennis Dalessandro <dennis.dalessandro@intel.com> Reviewed-by: Sebastian Sanchez <sebastian.sanchez@intel.com> Reviewed-by: Jianxin Xiong <jianxin.xiong@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Tadeusz Struk <tadeusz.struk@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Dennis Dalessandro <dennis.dalessandro@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Doug Ledford <dledford@redhat.com>
* Merge tag 'for-linus' of ↵Linus Torvalds2016-05-281-0/+12
|\ | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/dledford/rdma Pull more rdma updates from Doug Ledford: "This is the second group of code for the 4.7 merge window. It looks large, but only in one sense. I'll get to that in a minute. The list of changes here breaks down as follows: - Dynamic counter infrastructure in the IB drivers This is a sysfs based code to allow free form access to the hardware counters RDMA devices might support so drivers don't need to code this up repeatedly themselves - SendOnlyFullMember multicast support - IB router support - A couple misc fixes - The big item on the list: hfi1 driver updates, plus moving the hfi1 driver out of staging There was a group of 15 patches in the hfi1 list that I thought I had in the first pull request but they weren't. So that added to the length of the hfi1 section here. As far as these go, everything but the hfi1 is pretty straight forward. The hfi1 is, if you recall, the driver that Al had complaints about how it used the write/writev interfaces in an overloaded fashion. The write portion of their interface behaved like the write handler in the IB stack proper and did bi-directional communications. The writev interface, on the other hand, only accepts SDMA request structures. The completions for those structures are sent back via an entirely different event mechanism. With the security patch, we put security checks on the write interface, however, we also knew they would be going away soon. Now, we've converted the write handler in the hfi1 driver to use ioctls from the IB reserved magic area for its bidirectional communications. With that change, Intel has addressed all of the items originally on their TODO when they went into staging (as well as many items added to the list later). As such, I moved them out, and since they were the last item in the staging/rdma directory, and I don't have immediate plans to use the staging area again, I removed the staging/rdma area. Because of the move out of staging, as well as a series of 5 patches in the hfi1 driver that removed code people thought should be done in a different way and was optional to begin with (a snoop debug interface, an eeprom driver for an eeprom connected directory to their hfi1 chip and not via an i2c bus, and a few other things like that), the line count, especially the removal count, is high" * tag 'for-linus' of git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/dledford/rdma: (56 commits) staging/rdma: Remove the entire rdma subdirectory of staging IB/core: Make device counter infrastructure dynamic IB/hfi1: Fix pio map initialization IB/hfi1: Correct 8051 link parameter settings IB/hfi1: Update pkey table properly after link down or FM start IB/rdamvt: Fix rdmavt s_ack_queue sizing IB/rdmavt: Max atomic value should be a u8 IB/hfi1: Fix hard lockup due to not using save/restore spin lock IB/hfi1: Add tracing support for send with invalidate opcode IB/hfi1, qib: Add ieth to the packet header definitions IB/hfi1: Move driver out of staging IB/hfi1: Do not free hfi1 cdev parent structure early IB/hfi1: Add trace message in user IOCTL handling IB/hfi1: Remove write(), use ioctl() for user cmds IB/hfi1: Add ioctl() interface for user commands IB/hfi1: Remove unused user command IB/hfi1: Remove snoop/diag interface IB/hfi1: Remove EPROM functionality from data device IB/hfi1: Remove UI char device IB/hfi1: Remove multiple device cdev ...
| * IB/core: Make device counter infrastructure dynamicChristoph Lameter2016-05-261-0/+12
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | In practice, each RDMA device has a unique set of counters that the hardware implements. Having a central set of counters that they must all adhere to is limiting and causes many useful counters to not be available. Therefore we create a dynamic counter registration infrastructure. The driver must implement a stats structure allocation routine, in which the driver must place the directory name it wants, a list of names for all of the counters, an array of u64 counters themselves, plus a few generic configuration options. We then implement a core routine to create a sysfs file for each of the named stats elements, and a core routine to retrieve the stats when any of the sysfs attribute files are read. To avoid excessive beating on the stats generation routine in the drivers, the core code also caches the stats for a short period of time so that someone attempting to read all of the stats in a given device's directory will not result in a stats generation call per file read. Future work will attempt to standardize just the shared stats elements, and possibly add a method to get the stats via netlink in addition to sysfs. Signed-off-by: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com> Signed-off-by: Mark Bloch <markb@mellanox.com> Reviewed-by: Steve Wise <swise@opengridcomputing.com> Signed-off-by: Doug Ledford <dledford@redhat.com> [ Add caching, make structure names more informative, add i40iw support, other significant rewrites from the original patch ]
* | Documentation: fix common spelling mistakesKees Cook2016-04-281-1/+1
|/ | | | | | | | | | This fixes several spelling mistakes in the Documentation/ tree, which are caught by checkpatch.pl's spell checking. Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> Reviewed-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com> Acked-by: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org> Signed-off-by: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
* staging/rdma/hfi1: Method to toggle "fast ECN" detectionVennila Megavannan2016-03-101-1/+2
| | | | | | | | | | | | | Add a per port sysfs paramter to toggle cc_prescan/Fast ECN Detection and remove the Kconfig option which was previously used to control this. While am updating the sysfs documentation, fix the name of CCMgtA. Reviewed-by: Arthur Kepner <arthur.kepner@intel.com> Reviewed-by: Mike Marciniszyn <mike.marciniszyn@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Vennila Megavannan <vennila.megavannan@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Doug Ledford <dledford@redhat.com>
* IB: remove in-kernel support for memory windowsChristoph Hellwig2015-12-231-2/+0
| | | | | | | | | | | | Remove the unused ib_allow_mw and ib_bind_mw functions, remove the unused IB_WR_BIND_MW and IB_WC_BIND_MW opcodes and move ib_dealloc_mw into the uverbs module. Signed-off-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de> Reviewed-by: Sagi Grimberg <sagig@mellanox.com> Reviewed-by: Jason Gunthorpe <jgunthorpe@obsidianresearch.com> [core] Reviewed-by: Steve Wise <swise@opengridcomputing.com> Signed-off-by: Doug Ledford <dledford@redhat.com>
* IB/hfi1: add driver filesMike Marciniszyn2015-08-281-0/+20
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Signed-off-by: Andrew Friedley <andrew.friedley@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Arthur Kepner <arthur.kepner@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Brendan Cunningham <brendan.cunningham@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Brian Welty <brian.welty@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Caz Yokoyama <caz.yokoyama@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Dean Luick <dean.luick@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Dennis Dalessandro <dennis.dalessandro@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Easwar Hariharan <easwar.hariharan@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Harish Chegondi <harish.chegondi@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Jim Snow <jim.m.snow@intel.com> Signed-off-by: John Gregor <john.a.gregor@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Jubin John <jubin.john@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Kaike Wan <kaike.wan@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Kevin Pine <kevin.pine@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Kyle Liddell <kyle.liddell@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Mike Marciniszyn <mike.marciniszyn@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Mitko Haralanov <mitko.haralanov@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Ravi Krishnaswamy <ravi.krishnaswamy@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Sadanand Warrier <sadanand.warrier@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Sanath Kumar <sanath.s.kumar@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Sudeep Dutt <sudeep.dutt@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Vlad Danushevsky <vladimir.danusevsky@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Doug Ledford <dledford@redhat.com>
* IB/mad: add new ioctl to ABI to support new registration optionsIra Weiny2014-08-101-4/+9
| | | | | | | | Registrations options are specified through flags. Definitions of flags will be in subsequent patches. Signed-off-by: Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com> Signed-off-by: Roland Dreier <roland@purestorage.com>
* IB/ipoib: Add rtnl_link_ops supportOr Gerlitz2012-09-201-0/+3
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Add rtnl_link_ops to IPoIB, with the first usage being child device create/delete through them. Childs devices are now either legacy ones, created/deleted through the ipoib sysfs entries, or RTNL ones. Adding support for RTNL childs involved refactoring of ipoib_vlan_add which is now used by both the sysfs and the link_ops code. Also, added ndo_uninit entry to support calling unregister_netdevice_queue from the rtnl dellink entry. This required removal of calls to ipoib_dev_cleanup from the driver in flows which use unregister_netdevice, since the networking core will invoke ipoib_uninit which does exactly that. Signed-off-by: Erez Shitrit <erezsh@mellanox.co.il> Signed-off-by: Or Gerlitz <ogerlitz@mellanox.com> Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
* Documentation: update broken web addresses.Justin P. Mattock2010-08-041-1/+1
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Below you will find an updated version from the original series bunching all patches into one big patch updating broken web addresses that are located in Documentation/* Some of the addresses date as far far back as 1995 etc... so searching became a bit difficult, the best way to deal with these is to use web.archive.org to locate these addresses that are outdated. Now there are also some addresses pointing to .spec files some are located, but some(after searching on the companies site)where still no where to be found. In this case I just changed the address to the company site this way the users can contact the company and they can locate them for the users. Signed-off-by: Justin P. Mattock <justinmattock@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Thomas Weber <weber@corscience.de> Signed-off-by: Mike Frysinger <vapier.adi@gmail.com> Cc: Paulo Marques <pmarques@grupopie.com> Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@xenotime.net> Cc: Michael Neuling <mikey@neuling.org> Signed-off-by: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
* IB: Fix typo in ipoib.txtBart Van Assche2009-12-091-5/+5
| | | | | | | Delete extra words in "is to takes advantage of". Signed-off-by: Bart Van Assche <bart.vanassche@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Roland Dreier <rolandd@cisco.com>
* IB: Fix typo in udev rule documentationBart Van Assche2009-10-072-3/+3
| | | | | | | | The proper syntax for udev rules is KERNEL==... instead of KERNEL=... Signed-off-by: Bart Van Assche <bart.vanassche@gmail.com> Reported-by: Lukasz Jurewicz <lukasz.jurewicz@gmail.com> Signed-off-by: Roland Dreier <rolandd@cisco.com>
* IPoIB: Document newish featuresOr Gerlitz2009-04-081-0/+45
| | | | | | | | Update the documentation to include connected mode, stateless offloads and interrupt moderation, and add a reference to the connected mode RFC. Signed-off-by: Or Gerlitz <ogerlitz@voltaire.com> Signed-off-by: Roland Dreier <rolandd@cisco.com>
* IB/umad: Add P_Key index supportRoland Dreier2007-10-091-0/+14
| | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | | Add support for setting the P_Key index of sent MADs and getting the P_Key index of received MADs. This requires a change to the layout of the ABI structure struct ib_user_mad_hdr, so to avoid breaking compatibility, we default to the old (unchanged) ABI and add a new ioctl IB_USER_MAD_ENABLE_PKEY that allows applications that are aware of the new ABI to opt into using it. We plan on switching to the new ABI by default in a year or so, and this patch adds a warning that is printed when an application uses the old ABI, to push people towards converting to the new ABI. Signed-off-by: Roland Dreier <rolandd@cisco.com> Reviewed-by: Sean Hefty <sean.hefty@intel.com> Reviewed-by: Hal Rosenstock <hal@xsigo.com>
* IB/umad: Clarify documentation of transaction IDHal Rosenstock2007-04-241-0/+8
| | | | | Signed-off-by: Hal Rosenstock <halr@voltaire.com> Signed-off-by: Roland Dreier <rolandd@cisco.com>
* IB/ipoib: Remove broken link from Kconfig and documentationOr Gerlitz2006-08-031-2/+0
| | | | | | | | Remove references to the IPoIB IETF working group as it has been closed. Signed-off-by: Or Gerlitz <ogerlitz@voltaire.com> Signed-off-by: Roland Dreier <rolandd@cisco.com>
* IPoIB: Mention RFC numbers in documentationRoland Dreier2006-06-171-4/+8
| | | | | | | Now that the IETF has released RFCs covering IPoIB, give the numbers in the documentation for IPoIB. Signed-off-by: Roland Dreier <rolandd@cisco.com>
* [PATCH] IB: Add core locking documentation to InfinibandHal Rosenstock2005-07-271-0/+114
| | | | | | | | | | Add core locking documentation to Infiniband Signed-off-by: Roland Dreier <rolandd@cisco.com> Signed-off-by: Hal Rosenstock <halr@voltaire.com> Cc: Roland Dreier <rolandd@cisco.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
* [PATCH] IB: User MAD ABI changes to support RMPPHal Rosenstock2005-07-271-13/+40
| | | | | | | | | User MAD ABI changes to support RMPP Signed-off-by: Hal Rosenstock <halr@voltaire.com> Cc: Roland Dreier <rolandd@cisco.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
* [PATCH] IB uverbs: add documentation fileRoland Dreier2005-07-071-0/+69
| | | | | | | | Add documentation for InfiniBand userspace verbs. Signed-off-by: Roland Dreier <rolandd@cisco.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
* [PATCH] IPoIB: document conversion to debugfsRoland Dreier2005-04-161-4/+3
| | | | | | | | | Update IPoIB documentation now that multicast debugging files have moved from ipoibdebugfs to debugfs. Signed-off-by: Roland Dreier <roland@topspin.com> Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org> Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
* Linux-2.6.12-rc2Linus Torvalds2005-04-163-0/+221
Initial git repository build. I'm not bothering with the full history, even though we have it. We can create a separate "historical" git archive of that later if we want to, and in the meantime it's about 3.2GB when imported into git - space that would just make the early git days unnecessarily complicated, when we don't have a lot of good infrastructure for it. Let it rip!